30 day random blog challenge – Day 16 – Thoughts on education.

Okay this is a really big topic. Obviously education is important but I think they put too much emphasis on getting good GCSES and A levels, 6th form and going to university, when there are other non mainstream ways of persuing education.

 For example a few years ago I personally did basic level 2 English and Maths functional skills (which are GCSE level but enough for me to be accepted to do a NVQ level 2 course in College studying health and social care.

(I ended up not being able to carry on due to illnesses and physical illnesses)

There is also The Open University where you study your courses at your own time.

I mean education is necessary to an extent but I find it unfair that you cannot apply for jobs if they haven’t got the right qualifications- eg when they are only considering A levels and above.

Also school doesn’t teach you much when it comes to living skills or even how to live. And I really think there should be more PSHE lessons.

I could rant on for ages about how i feel about the English education system but I will stop now.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

